Partners

LIST OF NELGA PARTNER INSTITUTIONS – ACADEMIC INSTITUTIONS DEALING WITH LAND GOVERNANCE IN SOUTHERN AFRICA

Existing Partners

NAMIBIA UNIVERSITY OF SCIENCE AND TECHNOLOGY (NUST) – [nelga southern africa node]

Country: Namibia
Department/Unit: 
Department of Land and Property Sciences
Contact: 

HoD: Mutjinde Katjiua
+264 61 2072140
E-mail: mkatjiua@nust.na

Dr. Rolf Becker, Dean,
rbecker@nust.na

Habitat for Humanity

Contact: 
  • Tamzin A Hudson
  • Advocacy Specialist Europe, Middle East and Africa
  • Habitat for Humanity International
  • Brooklyn Forum Building, 337 Veale Street, New Muckleneuk, Brooklyn, Pretoria 0181, South Africa
  • office: +27 12 433 6634  cell: +27 (0)82 842 7683  skype: tamzin71
  • thudson@habitat.org  decentplace.orghabitat.org/emea

UNIVERSITY OF NAMIBIA (UNAM)

Country: Namibia
Department/Unit: 
Multi-Disciplinary Research Centre
Contact: 

Dr. Kletus Likuwa
Deputy Director: Administration
Private Bag 13301
340 Mandume Ndemufayo Ave
Pionierspark
Windhoek
Namibia
Tel: +264 61 – 206 3690/3051
Fax: +264 61 – 206 3051/3684
Cell: +26481 – 838 9293
E-mail: klikuwa@unam.na

UNIVERSITY OF PRETORIA

Country: South Africa
Department/Unit: 
Centre for the Study of Governance Innovation The South African Land Observatory
Contact: 

Mr. Prince Mashele
Senior Researcher
Centre for the Study of Governance Innovation
Old College House
University of Pretoria Main Campus (Hatfield)
Lynwood Rd
0002 Pretoria
South Africa
Tel: +27 (0)12 420 4178
E-mail: prince@politicsresearch.co.za
E-mail: prince.mashele@governanceinnovation.org
E-mail: info@governanceinnovation.org


Department/Unit: 
[Collaborative Master of Science in Agricultural and Applied Economics (CMAAE) under AERC]

Department/Unit: 
Land Matrix
Contact: 

Ms. Angela Harding
Land Matrix
University of Pretoria
media@landmatrix.org

UNIVERSITY OF ZAMBIA

Country: Zambia
Department/Unit: 
Faculty of Law
Contact: 

Ms. Fatima Mandhu
E-mail: fatimamandhu@gmail.com
Tel: +260 955771058

UNIVERSITY OF ZIMBABWE

Country: Zimbabwe
Department/Unit: 
Faculty of Social Studies Department of Economics [AERC Collaborative MA Programme (Category B)]
Contact: 

Dr. Phineas Kadenge
Chairman, Department of Economics
p.kadenge@gmail.com
drhzhou@yahoo.com

Potential Partners

AUGUSTINO NETO UNIVESITY ANGOLA

Country: Angola
Contact: 

COPPERBELT UNIVERSITY KITWE

Country: Zambia
Department/Unit: 
School of the Built Environment Department of Urban and Regional planning
Contact: 

Dr CHILESHE, R.A.
Kitwe, Zambia
Phone: +260 96 6004239
E-mail: deansbe@cbu.ac.zm

SAM MOYO AFRICAN INSTITUTE OF AGRARIAN STUDIES

Country: Zimbabwe
Contact: 

Wilhelm Hesselbach
Support Analyst
Email: aias.trust@gmail.com

THE POLYTECHNIC UNIVERSITY OF MALAWI

Country: Malawi
Department/Unit: 
Department of Land and Surveying and Physical Planning
Contact: 

Dr. Edward Chikhwenda
echikhwenda@poluy.ac.mw

UNIVERSITY OF CAPETOWN (UCT)

Country: South Africa
Department/Unit: 
Faculty of Law Land and Accountability Research Centre (LARC)
Contact: 

Ms. Monica de Souza Louw
Governance Lead Researcher
E-mail: m.desouza@uct.ac.za
Tel: +27 21 650 3086
Fax: +27 21 650 5608
Wilfred & Jules Kramer Law Building
Middle Campus (off Woolsack Drive)
Rondebosch
Administrator:  Sue Wright
+27 21 650 5906
+27 21 650 5183
E-mail: law-studies@uct.ac.za


Department/Unit: 
School of Economics [AERC Collaborative PhD Programme (Host)/ EfD PHD program]
Contact: 

Prof. Edwin Muchapondwa
Director, School of Economics
Edwin.Muchapondwa@uct.ac.za

UNIVERSITY OF BOTSWANA

Country: Botswana
Department/Unit: 
Department of Law
Contact: 

Tel. 276 355 2335
Fax +267 356 591


Department/Unit: 
Faculty of Social Sciences Department of Economics [AERC Collaborative MA Programme (Category B)]
Contact: 

Prof. Patricia Makepe
Head, Department of Economics
makepepm@mopipi.ub.bw

UNIVERSITY OF MALAWI

Country: Malawi
Department/Unit: 
Chancellor College Department of Economics
Contact: 

Dr. Patrick Kambewa
pkambewa@gmail.com

UNIVERSITY OF MAURITIUS

Country: Mauritius
Department/Unit: 
Faculty of Engineering Civil Engineering Department, Town and Country Planning [Partner institution, Specialized for coastal management]
Contact: 

Mrs. Y. Baguant-Moonshiram
k.baguant@uom.ac.mu


Department/Unit: 
Faculty of Social Studies & Humanities Department of Economics Statistics [AERC Collaborative MA Programme (Category B)]
Contact: 

Dr. Verena Tandrayen Ragoobur
Head Department of Economics Statistics
v.tandrayen@uom.ac.mu

 

UNIVERSITY OF THE WESTERN CAPE (UWC)

Country: South Africa
Department/Unit: 
Institute for Poverty Land and Agrarian Studies (PLAAS)
Contact: 

Prof Ruth Hall
University of the Western Cape, Uwc Access Rd, University of The Western Cape, Cape Town, 7535, South Africa
Tel: +27 21 959 3733
E-mail: rhall@plaas.org.na

Prof. Moenieba Isaacs
Academic Coordinator
Tel: +27-(0)21-959-3721
E-mail: misaacs@plaas.org.za

UNIVERSITY OF THE WITWATERSRAND

Country: South Africa
Department/Unit: 
School of Economics & Business Sciences [AERC Collaborative PhD Programme (Non-Host)]
Contact: 

Prof. Tendai Gwatidzo
Tendai.Gwatidzo@wits.ac.za